Sole Female Traveller In Tuscany

Suzy.P

Hi everyone I am new to this forum and I am a middle aged Australian woman planning a solo trip to Florence and surrounding Tuscany in May 2016. I am staying in Florence for 7 nights to experience everything Florentine then I want to stay somewhere that is a good example of Tuscan countryside without being to out of the way as I will not be hiring a car.
It is my first time traveling to Italy and Tuscany so I was hoping that this forum could give me a few pointers about where to go and where to stay .
I am hoping to stay around another week in Tuscany before I fly to Paris so a quiet interlude after Florence and before Paris but with some interesting sites and good food ( but I know... all Italian food is good).
I would like to leave this post at that and see what other members come up with and then I can explore the possibilities.
Best Wishes
Suzy.P

Travelling on your Own

Buongiorno,

Here are a couple of things you may want to consider while travelling on your own:

while in Florence there are a ton of things you can do which will allow you to enjoy being on your own while still be in the "mix" of things. One of my (new) favorite things to do is eat at the San Lorenzo Market - the environment is always full of people and the tables are shared so you can even strike up a conversation. The food might be a bit more expensive....but its varied ;-)

while in Florence, look into joining a cooking class one night or even a walking tour - this way you can meet other people, enjoy yourself and maybe find some eager travelling companions for another day. I would also suggest looking into at least one organized tour of Chianti or the area, because sometimes without a car it is tough to see everything that you want to.