3 weeks in September?

Dave K.

September, 3 weeks in Tuscany.

Hi,

I'm starting to plan a 3 week vacation to Tuscany in September. I will be traveling solo and desire a mix of adventure, quiet time, and seeing the sites. I prefer exploring things without a guide and making discoveries the tourists don't experience.

I am looking for ideas on lodging, meals, accommodations, culture experience, language, socializing, etc. This is my first time to Italy and Europe.

Thank you.

Dave K.

Last edited:
lots to do in 3 weeks!

Ciao Dave,

Three whole weeks in Tuscany? Sounds like an awesome trip. You'll definitely have time to experience Tuscany as most visitors don't get the chance to do which is really slowly and with calm. Are you planning to rent a place for the whole three weeks or move around? Are you planning to rely solely on public transportation or rent a car, too, at least for part of the 3 weeks?

I ask because there really are a lot of factors that can influence your experience overall. And you don't definitely need a guide to show you around, you can discover Florence and the main sites in Tuscany on your own, at your pace and comfort.

Since you'll be traveling solo, I'd recommend you look into the hostels - they aren't just for students and they offer a great place to meet other solo travelers as well. There's a few here: http://www.florenceaccommodation.com/florence-hostels/

As for language and culture, you might consider taking an Italian language course while here... how about something like Scuola Leonardo?

These are just some ideas, you can't go wrong with the food as long as you stay away from really touristy restaurants. Eat where the locals are eating and you'll be fine ;-)

Re: lots to do in 3 weeks!

Lourdes,
Thank you for your reply. I am really pretty much a tickets in and tickets out and find out what I want to do and experience after I get there. Of course with some advance insights of what to expect before I arrive.