Milan-Santa Margherita-Tuscany and back.... Are we crazy?

LisaMP

Hello! This is my first time posting here- my husband and I are in the early stages of planning an early October trip to Italy- we only have one week (not including flight time) and were hoping to hit both the Ligurian coast as well as Tuscany- just not sure if that is do-able without losing our minds ;)

It is easiest time-wise/least connections and most affordable for us to fly into Milan, not Florence- we were considering renting a car from Milan, driving the Santa Margherita/anywhere else in CInque Terre or Liguria or close by, spend two days there, and then drive to Tuscany and rent a farmhouse for the remaining four days- fly back through Milan- is this totally insane?

We are am active couple in our 30s, no kids, and want to do some great hiking, wine tasting and eating- we usually prefer off-the-beaten-path areas (I know, CT is not necessarily off the beaten path, but our friends tell us we "have" to go) - we want to steam away from " mainstream areas" and don't care for museums, art, etc- just want to explore through hiking an authentic Italian experience of food, wine and culture

Any input is very much appreciated- we have ultimate flexibility and haven't really started planning anything

Ciao Lisa!

Buongiorno from the Tuscan seaside! :) I was reading your post and thought....mmm a what young fit couple! :) Your plan looks intense but not insane. Being mum with kids and enjoying the slow traveling I may have some doubts about the schedule but considering that you are motivated and without children....you can do it!!

I might just suggest you to tour the Cinque Terre by train which is much easier...you are probably used to drive on very large roads, not the typical ligurian narrow steep streets which may give you a hard time in touring or parking. TRAIN + HIKING is definitely the best way to enjoy the coast. October is still great also by boat, if the weather allows ferries to sail.