Bringing College Students to Tuscany

kmkostan

Hello! I'm a college professor in the U.S. planning to bring about 10 college students, and one other faculty member, to Italy in May 2014 for 2 1/2 weeks. I'm trying to keep costs as low as possible, while giving them a variety of different experiences in Italy. We're planning to spend some time in Rome, Florence, maybe Siena... the itinerary is still completely open. Venice, Bologna and Cinque Terre are also being discussed, through we may split the group up and visit one or two of those separately for a few days.

If anyone has suggestions of places to stay for a group of 12-14 people, I'd appreciate it. We'll be relying on public transportation. I'm looking for safe, clean, interesting places (they don't need to be fancy). Breakfast included would be a plus as it will get us starting our day together. Internet access would be nice, but I have no idea if this is the norm in Italian accommodations or not. I'd love to rent a flat sometime during the trip (we could split the group up in two if necessary, if the accommodations are near each other) so that we could have access to a kitchen, but I don't know how practical this would be.

I'd also love suggestions of things to do/see that I might not come across going through the typical travel guides (tripadvisor, Rick Steves, Lonely Planet...) or any 'you absolutely shouldn't miss...' feedback. As I said, I'm trying to make this trip as affordable as I possibly can, so suggestions on free or inexpensive experiences would be great. My favorite moments from trips are often more about meeting locals and finding a way to live 'like a native' if only for an afternoon, so less typical tourist suggestions are certainly welcome.

Thanks so much for any suggestions. By the way, none of us speak Italian, though we'll all be going through a crash course on Italian for travel, so will try to muddle through with help :)

Ciao kmkostan,