Round trip from florence to Monteriggioni Medival festival

Carissa Fei

Hello, Im a study abroad student from California who would like to take day a trip Monteriggioni on the 10 of july for the medival festival. I would like to take it by train or bus.

The problems are the times. The festival ticketing starts at 4:30 pm and I would like to stay until midnight. What are the best options for transportation. Im having a very hard time getting round trip information to get to and from florence and Monteriggioni.

http://www.monteriggionimedievale.com/en

I have research and the bus best is the 1301 bus, but Im having a hard time knowing where to purchase the tickets. At the same time, I wouldn't mind taking a train, but walking an hour is a lot or so it seems from Pologini, unless its less than 30 mins.

Im willing to do a bit of taxi as long as its not overwhelming, and cheaper.

I just want transportation to be less complicated as possible, and to buy everything in one go. Thanks!

I also am not in a hotel because I live in a dorm by SRISA and they are not tourist offices.

Sincerely

Carissa Fei

Ciao Carissa,

I am sorry to tell you but I wouldn't even try to depend at ALL on public transportation on a Sunday.... particularly in the evenings.

Checking timetables - http://www.busfox.com/timetable/?from=firenze&to=monteriggioni&date=10/07/2016&time=00:00 - you CAN GET THERE even if it takes anywhere from 70-111 minutes (I would go earlier and explore Monteriggioni before the festival starts). But the real problem is getting back.
You won't have a way to get back. The last bus that passes by Monteriggioni (at the small stop below the village) is at 9.24pm on Sundays in the direction of Siena.
Even if you were to catch that bus, you would then have to spend the night in Siena as there are no buses or trains to Florence (the last train is at 9.26pm).

The medieval festival is a lot of fun so I highly recommend it.... so let's see how else you can get there: