4 weeks in Tuscany

GregW

Hi all,

I am interested in wine--I have made wine myself; food--I am a gourmet cook; and people--so I am learning some Italian before my trip.

I am planning a stay of about 4 weeks in Italy, primarily in Tuscany. I will be there in May-June 2011. I would also like to visit the Moto Guzzi factory further north as I ride a Moto Guzzi motorcycle here in Australia.

This will be my first trip to Italy, and while I am interested in seeing some of the historic sites and scenery, I really want to 'soak up' the culture and atmosphere, relax, drink great coffee and wine, and taste and learn to cook some real Tuscan food. Some time on the coast would also be nice.

Other than the air ticket, I have no definite plans yet, and would appreciate all suggestions and questions.

grazie mille,
Greg

Last edited:
Consdering what you wrote, you are going to love Tuscany wherever you go! Honestly, it's such a wonderful area that you cannot go far wrong. Where I live (around san gimignano) is in my opinion the most beautiful part, but I could be biased! For the coast I would check out Cinque Terre or even around Grosetto ways. Hope you have a great holiday, if you have any specific questions on the area feel free to ask me :)

lots to see in Italy and Tuscany in particular

Ciao Greg,

I agree with La Fiaba, wherever you go in Tuscany you won't go wrong - great wine and food. Tuscan cuisine is quite simple since it is based on fresh seasonal ingredients whose taste is allowed to come through, I am sure you'll like everything you try.