Train ticket

Status
Not open for further replies.

ikurah

Hi
I am going to Italy the week after. Very excited and terrified at the same time.
It is my first time to go to Italy, cannot speak a word of Italian except Grazie and I am going on my own so I am quite scared
Anyway I will fly to Pisa Airport and be staying 3 nights at Pisa.
I want to go to Florence, Siena, Chianti and Arezzo.
I booked flights & hotels via Easyjet, at that time I didn't realise it is better to stay at different areas
Now it is diffuclt to cancel the hotel so I have travel to Florence, Siena and other places and get back to Pisa every night to stay.
So I will have to use train quite a lot. (I don't drive)
My question is, do I need to book train tickets in advance?
Or can I just pop in the station and purchase tickets?
Is there any advice you could give?
Please help me out!

Moving around by train from Pisa

Dear ikurah,

You don't need to buy train tickets in advance because you are going to take regional trains. So you can just pop in the train station and buy the ticket.

From Pisa to Siena I suggest you stop in Empoli and take a train from there. In Empoli you can take a train for Poggibonsi or Castelfiorentino to visit Chianti. I suggest you read this article about moving around Chianti.

Regarding Florence there are several trains back and forth and the journey is about 1 hour.

For Arezzo I don't know if you'll have time. You have to consider at least two hours by train because you have to go from Pisa to Florence and then from Florence to Arezzo.

I strongly suggest you look in advance at trains' schedules so that you can plan your daily trips, avoiding spending time waiting for the next train ;)

About Italian I don't think you would have problems, since most of Italians speak English, especially in tourist areas. Other good words are

buon giorno = good morning
buona sera = good evening
non parlo italiano, parli inglese? = I don't speak Italian, do you speak English?