Transportation with a 5 yr old

Liciawest08

Im going to be traveling from Michigan to Italy. This trip is going to be for 2 weeks. While there I want to stay in Tuscany, Florence, and Rome and make small trips and sight see within those stays. My questions are:

1. Where should I start? Where should I end?
2. Should I rent a car from my start point? Can I keep it until my end point?
3. What places should I see in each city (keeping in mind I have my 5 yr old son?)
4. Are those three places reasonable in two weeks?
5. Where can I go to find a penpal in Italy?
6. Hostels? What are they? Are they cheaper then hotels?

Thank you.. This is our first time traveling outside of the U.S with my son and we're very excited. I'm still learning about the country and the people.:)

Italian Holidays with 5 years old child

Dear Liciawest08,

welcome to our forum! :D

First of all let me say something about Florence, Rome and Tuscany. Florence and Rome are two cities while Tuscany is an Italian region where there is Florence, Pisa and other beautiful cities. It's famous for its gorgeous landscapes, beautiful art cities, good food and wine. ;)

In 2 weeks you have enough time for visiting Florence, Rome and some places in Tuscany. The start point of your vacation really depends on your flight. Where do you land? Generally international flights from the US arrive in Rome. If this is your case I suggest yo start from there and this is the possible itinerary I would suggest you:

4 days in Rome
5 days in Tuscany - different destinations
5 days in Florence - including day trips

When you will be in Rome and in Florence you won't need a car, because you can walk or use public transports. You have also to consider that parking both in Roma and Florence can be really expensive. So I suggest you rent a car on your departure from Rome, then drive around Tuscany and return it in Florence on your arrival. Then from Florence to Rome you can easily get a fast train.