3 days in Tuscany

miche

Hello, It's my first time in Tuscany. Myself and my husband are flying to Pisa in mid September. We'd like to get a feel for Tuscany (I know 3 days is not enough) we don't mind hiring a car if that's advisable. The question is where to stay as a base. I'd love to see Florence, Siena, Lucca and villages around Bagni di Lucca. I think we should go back for a longer trip. As a first trip however I can't decide whether to stay in Florence for 3 days or leave Florence for next time. Please help. I want this to be a relaxing holiday and not too much rushing around, if possible we'd like to stay away from crowded places. If we leave florence out do you advise Siena, Lucca or Chianti.

Welcome to the DT forum!

For your first trip to Tuscany I think Florence would be a great destination. Three days are not a lot, but enough to see main museums and sights of Florence and you'll not need to hire a car. From Pisa airport you can easily reach Florence in about an hour and half by train.
You can find many interesting info reading our travel guide Visit Florence
From Florence you can also plan a one day trip to the Chianti area. Many agencies offer organized tours to Chianti, often with wine tasting included.

Hope your trip turns out wonderful!

trip in October

Hi,

I have a similar plan - flying to Pisa for 3 days in mid-October, I will rent a car and would like to drive around and see and feel as much Tuscany as I can. I've been in Florence already and don't really want it on my drive plan. Thinking - staying first night ( I arrive very late) somewhere close to Pisa airport and than drive in the morning direction Siena. I would also like to see San Gimignano and maybe Lucca - not very on the same way but I guess feasible, no?
Would you advise some other places to see on the way, some beautiful, typical spot just to wonder around in tiny streets... There is plenty of them mentioned in different places, but some special for you maybe?