Traveling to Tuscany in September, and I have a couple of questions

Marji

Hello Folks!

We are traveling to Tuscany in early September, and we are very excited about this trip. This is my first time in Italy. My husband and I are sharing a villa with two other couples (dear friends). We live in New York. I guess we'll be there about 10 days.

We are excited to explore the area, do some cycling, perhaps visit Florence, definitely visit Cinque Terre (!), and any other place that is recommended by folks who know more than I do! I plan to spend the time between now and then learning to speak Italian.

I have two questions:

First, I am a vegetarian, mostly vegan, though I'm not strict. I'm hoping that I can eat well while I'm there, and I wonder if anyone has any experiences about food from that perspective in Tuscany.

Second, we are performing musicians (folk/pop/jazz) here in New York (state), and I thought it'd be a blast to book a show while we're there. I have NO idea how to go about getting that started, and I wonder if anyone has any ideas about lining up a show (like a house concert or something like that) in the region.

Thanks so much for reading my message!!!

With deepest gratitude and warmest wishes,
Marji

Vegan

Buongiorno,

Though cheese and dairy products are a large part of the diet in Tuscany - there are lots of things you can eat which will allow you to stick to your dietary choice. There is pasta made with eggs (Pasta all'uovo) - and pasta with out - and many times it is written like that on the menu and on the products you buy in the store. And there are also many sauces that include just veggies. Beans are also an important part of traditional recipes...just be sure to learn the phrase "niente carne" - which means no meat.